The Hungarian E-Mobility Cluster „Ányos Jedlik”


A Short Overview

The Hungarian E-Mobility Cluster “Ányos Jedlik” is the platform organisation of the relevant stakeholders that are committed to the development of electric mobility. The Cluster was established in 2014 primarily as a consultative and advisory platform for the government. It is involved in shaping the necessary development policies, exploring the economic, social and environmental potential of electric mobility and recommending actions for politicians and business.



Currently the Cluster has forty-two registered members and ten cooperating partners. Among them – just to mention a few – there are:


  • Automotive companies, like the Porsche Group (VW) and evopro Bus;
  • Energy and utility companies, like MOL Hungarian Oil and Gas Company, E.ON Hungary, MVM Hungarian Power Company, NKM Public Utilities;
  • Telecommunication and ICT companies, like Vodafone and T-Systems;
  • A key member of the Cluster is the state-owned e-Mobi Electromobility Ltd. which is responsible for the implementation of the national subsidy and charger deployment projects;
  • Car-sharing providers, like Green-Go;
  • Universities and research institutions, like the BME Budapest University of Technology, the Hungarian Academy of Sciences, the REKK Regional Energy Research Center of the Corvinus University, the KTI Transport Science Institute, Debrecen University, Dunaújváros University, Miskolc University, Óbuda University
  • Municipalities and public transport organisers, like Újbuda (XI) District of Budapest and the BKK Budapest Public Transport Authority;
  • Automotive suppliers, mobility solution suppliers, consulting companies and NGOs, like the Hungarian Hydrogen and Fuel Cell Association and the Clean Air Working Group.


The Cluster has a solid record of cooperation with other major stakeholders in electric and intelligent mobility, like ELMŰ-ÉMÁSZ, Bosch, TÜV Rheinland, the HIPA Hungarian Investment Promotion Agency, KPMG, PwC, ABB, Mennekes, Schneider Electric, Nissan, Lukoil, AI Motive, Commsignia and the Zalaegerszeg Automotive Test Facility.



The Cluster is governed by a Steering Committee (Board) of 9 elected members to provide transparency and accountability. Current members of the Board:



István Varga, dean of the Vehicle Technology Faculty of the Budapest University of Technology



Kálmán Dabóczi, CEO, BKK Budapest Public Transport Centre

Péter Gordos, Director of Government Relations, MOL Group

Csaba Mészáros, Chairman and CEO, evopro Holding

Balázs Dalnoki, VW Brand Director, Porsche Hungaria

Ferenc Németh, Director of Government Relations, E.ON

Kristóf Nobilis, GreenGo Carsharing

Péter Tarnóy, Elektromotive Hungaria

Zoltán Szilágyi, MVM Group


Innovation in our Focus

Since its foundation, the Cluster has focused on using the synergies between the stakeholders so that they can meet their individual strategic goals. In that context, the Cluster aims at facilitating innovation and enhance competitiveness in several sectors among which the vehicle industry is of utmost importance. Many of our members are vehicle manufacturers, technology suppliers or they are involved in research, development and innovation activities.

All our members, however, share the view that electric mobility covers much more than just electric vehicles, as the e-mobility ecosystem consists of a whole range of components: apart from a wide variety of vehicles (cars, buses, trucks, light vehicles, and even bikes) it entails a reliable and flexible energy grid, state-of-the art informatics and communication services, and a very complex segment of innovative technology solutions.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *